Meet Liz

Professional journey

Elizabeth Newell

I had a long and winding road to becoming the dietitian I am today. In high school and college I thought that I wanted to be a therapist. I got my degree in psychology at Penn State, but I didn’t feel ready to go to grad school and decided that I would rather work first. I moved to San Diego and found a job where I managed energy efficiency programs. During that time I started getting interested in cooking and reading about food, and I was feeling uninspired by my job. I had a good life in a great place, but I wanted to do something that could help people.

I put together my love of food and cooking with my previous interest in counseling and I decided to go back to school to become a dietitian. I moved across the country and graduated from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro with a Master’s Degree in Nutrition and completed my dietetic internship. As I dietitian I have worked mostly in outpatient nutrition counseling. I have also worked in corporate settings, hospitals, and in hospice. I have helped people with a variety of nutrition problems, but my passion is helping women with PCOS.

I am a private person. In the past, I haven’t made the fact that I have PCOS and have gone through fertility treatments to get pregnant a topic of casual conversation. I am impressed by people who are open about themselves! But for whatever reason, that is just doesn’t come easily to me. But here’s my truth: I know about navigating PCOS and fertility since I have been through it. I know that few health practitioners know much about PCOS, even though around 10% of women have it. I know that the internet is full of confusing, non-research-based advice for women with PCOS and I know that it can be hard to tell which suggestions to follow.

If you are a woman with PCOS who wants to improve your health by making realistic changes to your diet and lifestyle, then I’m your girl. I am going to work WITH you, not just tell you to follow a fad diet or cut out your favorite foods. Everyone’s situation with PCOS is different and everyone’s lifestyle is different, so I will talk with you about where you are coming from, and what your goals are, before making recommendations.

About me

I recently moved back to West Chester, PA with my husband Eric and daughter Josie (age 2) so that Josie could grow up close to family. We are so happy to live 10 minutes away from my parents so that Josie sees her grandparents every week!

I love eating good food, traveling, drinking wine, cooking, spending time with friends and family, enjoying the outdoors, watching addictive TV shows, and laughing. I am very curious about different people, places, and cultures and my favorite people are too.